Kazan Church in Toropets

Toropets, st. Solovyova, 10
Sun 09: 00-13: 00
The stone church of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God was built on the site of the wooden one in 1741-1764. She had two thrones: the main one - in the name of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God and the side-altar - in the name of the holy noble princes Boris and Gleb.

On a separate from the church, the bell tower, which, unfortunately, did not survive, hung five bells, the largest of which weighed 51 poods 13 pounds. In the middle of the 19th century, the church was surrounded by a brick fence with two towers, one of which housed a chapel. At present, a small wooden bell tower has been erected in its place. Since 1876, the Kazan Church was assigned to the Nikolskaya Church in Toropets.

The church was closed in 1931. In the Soviet years, various organizations were located in the building of the temple. There was a salt warehouse with a separate entrance in the altar, in different years the building also had a smithy, a boiler room, a warehouse for felt boots and boots, machine tools, and kerosene was traded. The last organization that was located in this building during the years of perestroika is the restoration site.

The building of the temple was transferred to the Church in April 1991, and restoration work began immediately. On January 5, 1992, the first service took place in the church - the Divine Liturgy and the prayer service.
Did you like the article? Share with friends:
Up

Казанская церковь в Торопце

г. Торопец, ул. Соловьева, д. 10
Вс 09:00–13:00

Каменная церковь Казанской иконы Божией Матери была построена на месте деревянной в 1741-1764 годах. Имела два престола: главный — во имя Казанской иконы Божьей Матери и придельный — во имя святых благоверных князей Бориса и Глеба.

На отдельно стоящей от храма колокольне, которая, к сожалению, не coxpaнилась, висело пять колоколов, самый большой из которых вeсил 51 пуд 13 фунтов. В середине XIX века церковь была обнесена кирпичной оградой с двумя башнями, в одной из которых помещалась часовня. В настоящее время на ее месте воздвигнута небольшая деревянная колокольня. С 1876 года Казанская церковь была приписана к Никольской церкви г.Торопца.

Церковь закрыта в 1931 году. В советские годы в здании храма располагались разные организации. В алтаре был склад соли с отдельным входом, в разные годы в здании были также кузница, бойлерная, склад валенок и сапог, станков, велась торговля керосином. Последняя организация, располагавшаяся в этом здании уже в годы перестройки, — реставрационный участок.

Здание храма было передано Церкви в апреле 1991 года и сразу же начались реставрационные работы. 5 января 1992 года в церкви состоялось первое богослужение — Божественная литургия и молебен.

Понравилась статья? Поделитесь с друзьями:
Наверх