Church of the Myrrhbearers

Toropets, st. Komsomolskaya, 3
At the end of the 18th century, Catherine II ordered the city cemeteries to be removed outside the cities. Behind Toropets, three cemeteries are set up and churches with them: The Myrrh-Bearing Women, built at the expense of the "voluntary donors of the city of Toropets"; All Saints - at the expense of the citizens of the city; Ascension of the Lord - at the expense of the landowner Gabriel Luchaninov.

City parish churches were assigned to each of the cemetery churches. So, at the Ascension cemetery, parishioners of the Intercession-Nikolsky parish, Savior Transfiguration, Annunciation churches were buried. And in the cemetery at the Church of All Saints there are hurrying people of all religions: on the right side of the cemetery - Orthodox, on the left - Lutherans and Catholics, behind the church - Jews.

All three cemeteries were surrounded by fences. The Voznesensky fence was built at the expense of the merchant Vasily Pechkarev and cost 2,343 rubles. For this he was "given the blessing of the Holy Synod with a letter." A gatehouse was located at each cemetery. And services in cemetery churches were also performed at the request of parishioners.

Temples, like people, have their own destiny. In the Soviet era, the Church of All Saints remains the only one not only in the Toropetsky district, but also in five nearby districts. An art workshop is located in the Church of the Myrrh-Bearing Women. And the temple of the Ascension of the Lord remains one on one with the elements - marauders and bad weather.

And a small stone one-altar church, which was illuminated by 6 windows, with a one-tier bell tower with four bells built in connection with the church, begins to gradually collapse. And the image of St. Andrew the First-Called, who was behind the right kliros, over the ashes of Andrei Ivanovich Abakumov, senator, general-food master, and other church utensils disappear. The image was really great. Its crown was adorned in 1827 with white French rhinestones, and there was the Order of Anne of the first degree, studded with diamonds. Before him hung a large bronze oil lamp and a cast church grate. Indicates the burial place of Abakumov.

Gravestones are also gradually destroyed. Thus, during the years of the revolutionary persecution of the church, the tombstone on the grave of the parents and brothers of Patriarch Tikhon was destroyed. In the post-war years, pious hurrymen erected a modest monument here at their own peril and risk. And just a few years ago, a chapel and a tombstone were installed there.

People and time did their job - by the end of the 20th century, the temple was practically destroyed and, in the opinion of many, could not be restored.

But in 1999, with the blessing of the Archbishop of Tver and Kashinsky, the Nilo-Stolobensk Hermitage, sacred archimandrite Victor began restoration work on the church ... And two years later, on the feast of the Ascension of the Lord, the first divine service was performed after such long years of desolation.

The Ascension Church and the cemetery, through the efforts of the rector Priest George, parishioners and "volunteer donors", are gradually acquiring their former splendor.

Source: S. Ermakova, www.toropets.net
Did you like the article? Share with friends:
Up

Церковь Жен Мироносиц

г. Торопец, ул. Комсомольская, д. 3

В конце XVIII Екатерина II повелела городские кладбища вынести за пределы городов. За Торопцем устраиваются три кладбища и при них церкви: Жен-мироносиц, построенная на средства «доброхотных дателей города Торопца»; Всех Святых — на средства граждан города; Вознесения Господня — на средства помещика Гавриила Лучанинова.

К каждому из кладбищенских храмов были приписаны городские приходские церкви. Так, на Вознесенском кладбище хоронили прихожан Покрово-Никольского прихода, Спасо-Преображенской, Благовещенской церквей. А на кладбище при церкви Всей Святых — торопчан всех вероисповеданий: с правой стороны кладбища — православных, с левой — лютеран и католиков, за храмом — иудеев.

Все три кладбища были обнесены оградами. Ограда Вознесенского была построена на средства купца Василия Печкарева и стоила 2343 рубля. За это ему было «преподано благословение святого Синода с грамотою». При каждом кладбище были расположены сторожки. А службы в кладбищенских храмах совершались и по просьбам прихожан.

У храмов, как и у людей, своя судьба. В советскую эпоху храм Всех Святых остается единственным не только в Торопецком районе, но и в пяти близлежащих районах. В церкви Жен-мироносиц располагается художественная мастерская. А храм Вознесения Господня остается один на один со стихией — мародерами и непогодой.

И небольшая каменная однопрестольная церковь, которая освещалась 6 окнами, с одноярусной, устроенной в связи с церковью колокольней с четырьмя колоколами, начинает постепенно разрушаться. А замечательный по ценности образ св. Андрея Первозванного, который находился за правым клиросом, над прахом Андрея Ивановича Абакумова, сенатора, генерал-провиантмейстера, и другая церковная утварь исчезают. Образ был действительно замечательный. Его венец был убран 1827 белыми французскими стразами, висел орден Анны первой степени, усыпанный алмазами. Перед ним висела большая бронзовая лампада длч елея и была устроена литая церковная решетка. Указывающая место погребения Абакумова.

Постепенно разрушаются и надгробия. Так, в годы революционных гонений на церковь было уничтожено надгробие на могиле родителей и братьев патриарха Тихона. В послевоенные годы благочестивые торопчане на свой страх и риск установили здесь скромный памятник. И всего лишь несколько лет назад там были установлены часовня и надгробная плита.

Люди и время сделали свое дело — к концу 20 века храм был практически разрушен и, по мнению многих, восстановлению не подлежал.

Но в 1999 году по благословению архиепископа Тверского и Кашинского, Нило-Столобенской пустыни священно архимандрита Виктора начались реставрационные работы на храме...И уже через два года на праздник Вознесения Господня было совершено первое богослужение после столь долгих лет запустения.

Вознесенский храм и кладбище стараниями настоятеля иерея Георгия, прихожан и «доброхотных дателей» постепенно приобретают прежнее благолепие.

Источник: С.Ермакова, www.toropets.net

Понравилась статья? Поделитесь с друзьями:
Наверх